SIGGRAPH 2014

Howdy y’all.

As I write this, I am procrastinating. It is the night before my flight across North America and into the Canada. For those of you who don’t know, SIGGRAPH is an organization for nerds who love computer graphics. It’s sort of a big deal. The Siggraph conference is where all of the industry giants–both the companies and the people–gather to share and exchange research and ideas about our wonderfully twisted industry. This is where vfx artists, animation technical directors, computer science PhDs, programmers, game designers, developers, tinkerers, enthusiasts, and students learn, share, meet, mingle and make some memories.

Last year I was a student volunteer, where I actually worked for and at the conference in exchange for free access to it during my off time. This year, I’m returning as a team leader who helps manage the volunteers as well as the venues. I’m assigned to the art gallery, so come say hi if you see this!

There’s so much to do still… I’ve got to pack and organize my conference-related stuff such as business cards and schedule of things I’d like to attend and deal with all the last minute things like my phone plan being in another country…? Shouldn’t that be easy by now?

I also FINALLY updated my personal website for this conference too! Check it out here!

Siggraph always give me the swift kick in the ass I need to get myself motivated and reinvigorated. Now, it’s not that I get demotivated..but it gives me a slight confidence boost that I get to be around all of these hard-working, intelligent people who are so willing to create and contribute to an actual community. I always feel their good karma passes on to me, and I hope I can keep passing it along.

Leave a Reply

